11th edition - 2021

International Art Book and Film Festival

Capture d’écran 2021-05-10 à 17.43.11.

Program

Soon the program here.

Guests of Honour
Photo JPT .jpeg
Ed Ruscha

Born in 1937 in Nebraska, Ed Ruscha graduated from the Chouinard Art Institute in 1960. His early paintings gained attention as part of the pop art movement of the 1960s but his art also has a history in Dada, surrealism. and abstract expressionism, and would be at the heart of conceptual art.

Christophe Chassol
beka.jpg

Christophe Chassol aims to "harmonize the real", life, the world, everything he meets, everything that speaks to him. An eclectic artist, Christophe Chassol is sometimes a classical, jazz, and pop pianist, conductor, filmmaker, composer, and performer. His artistic universe bordering on the elusive brings together different disciplines

Gerhard Steidl
Jim Dine
Fontcuberta_granollers_edited.jpg

A cult publisher among cult publishers, Gerhard Steidl has published the most important books of the most important artists. Great photographers in particular are able to fight to see their book published by the German publisher. Gerhard Steidl has been able to combine over his long career the highest standards with the intuition of art in the making.

phoenix3_edited.jpg

A cult publisher among cult publishers, Gerhard Steidl has published the most important books of the most important artists. Great photographers in particular are able to fight to see their book published by the German publisher. Gerhard Steidl has been able to combine over his long career the highest standards with the intuition of art in the making.

William Kentridge
Capture d’écran 2020-10-25 à 13.22.57.

William Kentridge, if he is one of the greatest artists in the world today, took a long time to find his way. Passing through the theater he studied in Paris, and other forms of expression, the South African artist finally came up with a very recognizable style. Drawing is his main medium, but William Kentridge turns it so far that it becomes a fresco or animation, often an installation.

Giuseppe Penone
beka.jpg

Discreet artist, Giuseppe Penone has marked the artistic production of the last forty years with his works with powerful poetic effects. By discreet modifications, Giuseppe Penone plays with the passage of time. Its material is often natural, sometimes even it is alive.

Luc Tuymans
Fontcuberta_granollers_edited.jpg

Behind the clarity and the pale light of Luc Tuymans' paintings hides a worried and terrifying universe. Upset by the great human and political catastrophes of the last century, the Flemish painter never ceases to approach them through characters and objects with an evanescent presence.

FILAF 2020 Book Jury
Photo JPT .jpeg
Jeanne Brun

Archivist, paleographer, and chief curator, Jeanne Brun recently took the head of the cultural development of the institution and of the future museum of the National Library of France (BnF). Her School thesis received the Lasalle-Serbat Prize in 2006 which rewards the best thesis in art history. ⠀⠀⠀⠀

Gérard Berréby
beka.jpg

Publisher and writer, Gérard Berréby was born in 1950 in Thala, Tunisia. Gérard Berréby has been the founder and director of the Allia publishing house since 1982, as well as the editor-in-chief of the review "Feuilleton". In 2010, he published his first book Situation des depths, followed, among others, by Joker and Mat in 2016 or La Banlieue du monde in 2019.

Mireille Blanc
Stéphane Calais
Fontcuberta_granollers_edited.jpg

Born in 1985, Mireille Blanc studied at the Beaux-arts in Paris, from which she graduated in 2009, and at the Slade School of Fine Arts in London (2007). Her work has recently been presented in solo exhibitions at the Anne-Sarah Bénichou gallery (2020, Paris), at FRAC Auvergne (2018, Clermont-Ferrand), at The Pill gallery (2019, Istanbul), in the center of art by Grand Quevilly (2018).

phoenix3_edited.jpg

Considered one of the most important French artists of his generation, Stéphane Calais was nominated for the Ricard Prize in 2007, then for the Marcel Duchamp Prize in 2008. Mainly a painter, he studied at the Beaux-Arts in Nîmes, then at the Institut des Hautes Études en Arts Plastiques in Paris. His work is present in various private collections around the world.

FILAF 2021 Film Jury
Photo JPT .jpeg
Catherine Bizern

Catherine Bizern is a freelance producer and consultant in cinematographic writing. She is the general delegate of the Cinéma du Réel festival and artistic director of the Center for Cinematographic Writings at the Moulin d’Andé. Today, she supports young documentary authors, but also seasoned filmmakers.

Dave Longstreth
beka.jpg

Dave Longstreth is the lead singer and guitarist of the American rock band The Dirty Projectors. He recently collaborated with Bjork and David Byrne. Dave Longstreth is the younger brother of the American painter, musician, and internet radio personality Jake Longstreth.

Till Rabus
Fontcuberta_granollers_edited.jpg

Till Rabus uses both watercolor and oil to invent improbable worlds. Its manner evokes the technique of free association from everyday objects. A fruit, a vegetable, a can of cola, a fluff then become the starting points of delirium at the heart of which always nestles the serious ascent of vanity.

11è édition - 2021

Festival International du Livre d'Art et du Film

Capture d’écran 2021-05-10 à 17.43.11.

Programme

Invités d'honneur
EdRuschaPortrait-Sten Rosenlund 1.png
Ed Ruscha

Né en 1937 dans le Nebraska, Ed Ruscha est diplômé de la Chouinard Art Institute en 1960. Ses premières peintures ont attiré l'attention dans le cadre du mouvement pop art des années 1960 mais son art a également des antécédents dans le Dada, le surréalisme et l'expressionnisme abstrait, et serait au cœur de l'art conceptuel.

Christophe Chassol
chassol.jpeg

Christophe Chassol a pour objectif « d’harmoniser le réel », la vie, le monde, tout ce qu’il rencontre, tout ce qui lui parle. Artiste éclectique, Christophe Chassol est tantôt pianiste de musique classique, jazz et pop, chef d’orchestre, cinéaste, compositeur et interprète. Son univers artistique à la limite de l’insaisissable rassemble différentes disciplines

Gerhard Steidl
Jim Dine
170522_r29982.jpg.webp

Éditeur culte parmi les éditeurs cultes, Gerhard Steidl a publié les livres les plus importants des artistes les plus importants. Les grands photographes en particulier sont capables de se battre pour voir leur livre publié chez l'éditeur allemand. Gerhard Steidl a su combiner au fil de sa longue carrière l'exigence la plus haute avec l'intuition de l'art en train de se faire.

JIM-DINE-PORTRAIT-2015.jpg

Jim Dine produit des poésies comme des peintures, méthodiquement, depuis des décennies. Artiste idolâtré et idolâtre, l'amour est au centre de ses sujets. Souvent un cœur occupe le centre de son tableau, ou devient sculpture, étant comme sa signature. On trouve des coeurs en bronze dans plusieurs villes du monde comme les magnifiques cœurs jumeaux à Montréal devant le musée des beaux arts.
 

William Kentridge
kentridge.jpeg

William Kentridge, s'il est l'un des plus grands artistes mondiaux à l'heure actuelle, a mis longtemps à trouver sa voie. Passant par le théâtre qu'il a étudié à Paris, et d'autres formes d'expression, l'artiste Sud africain a finalement abouti à un style très reconnaissable. Le dessin est son support principal, mais William Kentridge le détourne tellement qu'il devient fresque ou animation, installation souvent.

Giuseppe Penone
penone.jpeg

Artiste discret, Giuseppe Penone a marqué la production artistique de ces quarante dernières années par ses œuvres aux puissants effets poétiques. Par de discrètes modifications, Giuseppe Penone joue avec le temps qui passe. Son matériau est souvent la nature, parfois même elle est vivante.

Luc Tuymans
tyumans.jpeg

Derrière la clarté et la lumière pâle des peintures de Luc Tuymans se cache un univers inquiet et terrifiant. Boulversé par les grandes catastrophes humaines et politiques du siècle dernier, le peintre flamand ne cesse de les approcher à travers des personnages et des objets à la présence évanescente.

Jury livres FILAF 2021
Portrait BNF.jpg
Jeanne Brun

Archiviste, paléographe et conservatrice en chef, Jeanne Brun a récemment pris la tête du développement culturel de l'institution et du futur musée de la Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF). Sa thèse d’École a reçu le prix Lasalle-Serbat en 2006 qui récompense la meilleure thèse en histoire de l’art.⠀⠀⠀⠀

Gérard Berréby
berr-by.jpeg

Éditeur et écrivain, Gérard Berréby est né en 1950 à Thala en Tunisie. Gérard Berréby est le fondateur et le directeur de la maison d'édition Allia depuis 1982, ainsi que le rédacteur en chef de la revue "Feuilleton". Il publie en 2010 son premier livre Situation des profondeurs, suivi, entre autres, de Joker et Mat en 2016 ou encore La Banlieue du monde en 2019.

Mireille Blanc
Stéphane Calais
Mireille Blanc Photo Vincent Ferrane.jpg

Née en 1985, Mireille Blanc a étudié aux Beaux-arts de Paris, dont elle est diplômée en 2009, et à la Slade School of Fine Arts à Londres (2007). Son travail a été récemment présenté lors d’expositions personnelles à la galerie Anne-Sarah Bénichou (2020, Paris), au FRAC Auvergne (2018, Clermont-Ferrand), à la galerie The Pill (2019, Istanbul), au centre d'art de Grand Quevilly (2018). 

SC Par M.Taureilles 2018 2.jpg

Considéré comme l’un des artistes français les plus importants de sa génération, Stéphane Calais a été nommé pour le Prix Ricard en 2007, puis pour le Prix Marcel Duchamp en 2008. Artiste peintre principalement, il a étudié aux Beaux-Arts de Nîmes, puis à l’Institut des Hautes Études en Arts Plastiques à Paris. Son travail est présent dans différentes collections privées dans le monde entier.

Jury films FILAF 2021
Paysage8Catherine-Bizern-photo-Florent-D
Catherine Bizern

Catherine Bizern est productrice indépendante et consultante en écritures cinématographiques. Elle est déléguée générale du festival le Cinéma du réel et directrice artistique du Centre des écritures cinématographiques au Moulin d’Andé. Elle accompagne aujourd’hui de jeunes auteurs de documentaires, mais aussi des cinéastes aguerris.

Jordi Colomer
jordi colomer foto Roland Jarry.jpg

Son œuvre, marquée d’un fort sens sculptural, englobe de multiples disciplines et tout particulièrement la photographie et la vidéo ainsi que leur mise en scène dans l’espace d’exposition. La variété de moyens que convoque l’œuvre de Jordi Colomer et la transversalité de son point de vue sont sans doute liées à sa formation plurielle d’architecte, artiste et historien de l’art, dans une Barcelone des années 80.

Till Rabus
Till Portrait.jpg

Till Rabus manie aussi bien l’aquarelle que l’huile pour inventer des mondes improbables. Sa manière évoque la technique de l’association libre à partir d'objets du quotidien. Un fruit, un légume, une canette de coca, un duvet deviennent alors les points de départ d’un délire au cœur duquel se niche toujours l’accent grave d’une vanité.

Livres en compétition officielle 2021
Critical Zones : the science and politics of landing on earth
de Bruno Latour, Peter Weibel
ed. MIT Press
Enzo Mari curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist,

Hans Ulrich Obrist et Francesca Giacomelli,

ed. Electa

100 x Congo : un siècle d’art congolais à Anvers,
Collectif Yellownow,
ed. Exhibition International
Eugène Dodeigne : une rétros- pective (1923-2015)
Germain Hirselj
ed. InvenitéMO, 2019
9782376800552-475x500-1.jpg
Formes, collection “mes premiers
imagiers de l’art”
Didier Baraud et Christian Demilly,
ed. Hazan
Alison & Peter Smithson : Hexen- haus. A House for a Man and a Cat

S. Smithson, A.A Ramos, M. Sciemeni,

ed. Walter Koenig

Studios de légende,
secrets et histoires
de nos Abbey Road français, 

Manuel Jacquinet,

Ed. Malpaso Radio Caroline Media

Kelly Reichardt,
l’Amérique retraversée,

Judith Revault D’Allonnes,
Ed. de l’incidence
Painting on stones : science
and sacred (1530-1800), 
Judith W. Mann,

ed. Hirmer Verlag

La fabrique de l’histoire de l’art

200 revues 1903-1969,

Mica Gherghescu, Laurence Gueye-Parmentier,

Stéphanie Rivoire et Didier Schulmann,

ed. Textuel

Kelly-Reichardt-L-Amerique-retraversee.j
Studios-de-legende-secrets-et-histoires-
Films en compétition officielle 2020

Pollock & Pollock

Un film d’Isabelle Rèbre

2020, 82’ (FR)

Prod. A PERTE DE VUE / Colette Quesson

Different Johns

de Robert Carr

2020, 93’ (FR)

A Fruitbat / Folkscare Production

Première française

Sisters with transistor 

de Lisa Rovner

2020, 86’, (GB)

Prod. Anna Lena Films, Willow Glen Films

The New Kid

d'Arnaud Dezoteux

2021, 72’ (FR, USA)

Prod. Arnaud Dezoteux, Les Volcans

Première française

Conz. The Ultimate collector’s life

de Roberto Delvoi

2021, 59’ (IT)

Prod. Ipnose Studio

Première française 

The Past is Always New, The Future is Always Nostalgic: Photographer Daido Moriyama

de Gen Iwama 

2019, 108’ (JP)

Prod. Hiromitsu Sugita, Tomoaki Sugimoto,

Masahiro Handa, Ryo Yukizane

Ana e Maurizio

de Catarina Mourão

2020, 64’ (PT)

Prod. Laranja Azul / Catarina Mourão

Première française 

Feels good man 

d'Arthur Jones

2020, 94’ (USA)

Prod.Aaron Wickenden, Giorgio Angelini / Ready Fictions

Tokyo Ride 

de Ila Bêka, Louise Lemoine

2020, 89’ (FR)

Prod Bêka & Partners