6th edition - 2016

International Art Book and Film Festival

© Arnaud Pyvka et Groupe ccc

PRIZE LIST BOOKS

GOLDEN FILAF
Avant l’Avant-Garde. Du jeu en photographie, 1890-1940

by Clément Chéroux (Textuel, 2015)


SILVER FILAF
Impondérable, Les Archives de Tony Oursler

by Tony Oursler (JRP Ringier / Fondation Luma, 2015)


SPECIAL JURY PRIZE
Images Take Flight: Feather Art in Mexico and Europe

by A. Russo, G. Wolf, D. Fane (Hirmer Publishers, 2016)

 

 

PRIZE LIST FILMS

GOLDEN FILAF
Malpartida - Fluxus Village

by María Pérez (2015, 73’, Prod : prod Smiz & Pixel, Agencia Audiovisual Freak)


SILVER FILAF
Ex aequo
-
Action Space, by Huw Wahl (2016, 86’, Prod: Huw Wahl and Amanda Ravetz)

- Tony Conrad, Completely In The Present, by Tyler Hubby (2016, 95’, Prod: Burning Bridges)

 

HONOUR PRIZE

Kenneth Goldsmith   /   Bertrand Lavier

Program

Download the complete program here

Guests of Honour
Michel Houellebecq

He is a French literature precursor, especially for his descriptions of occidental human's sentimental, sexual misery, and for his intertextual style mixing several speeches. He received the Goncourt Prize in 2010 and is often nominated for the following years. He is also a poet in addition to writer, actor, cineast, scenarist and singer. He always discusses the existential loneliness and the denunciation of liberalism which exists even in an individual's privacy. He maintains the polemic to the delight of the media. Michel Houellebecq gives a very important place for his essayist work and intervenes in both national and international media. 

Enrique Vila-Matas

​Spanish novelist and essayist, he was born in Barcelona. Following several collaborations and filmmaking in the cinema, and in the jolts of Franquism. He decides to settle in Paris where he writes several novels and meets Marguerite Duras and Copi. Back in Barcelona, he publishes many works and put in evidence his traditional antic style of writing, in which he exercises his virtuosity and his irony, featuring real or fictional beings. In 2016, as part of the movie EL dia de la Sipia, he becomes an actor and meets Miquel Barcelo.

Gérard Garouste 

This painter, engraver, and sculptor is internationally known, Gérard Garouste's works are exposed to the greatest museum in the world. "For a long time, I was only a sum of questions. Today, I am not a wise, I am not cured, I am a painter" (L'intranquille, L'iconoclaste publishers). This sentence is a summary of his life by the author himself. The way he chooses rather study than enter the provocation, allow him a reflection about the being and the knowledge.

Catherine Millet

Catherine Millet is a French writer and art critic, producer, and director of the Art Press magazine. She became famous after the autobiographique publishing of La Vie sexuelle de Catherine M., a book in which she tells by a clinical and deconsecrated way her sexual life. She is also a publisher of several work, among which a photo book Légendes de Catherine Millet written by her companion Jacques Henric which made the headlines. She is also the author of several books about contemporary art and of critical essays dedicated to Yves Klein or Salvador Dali's life.

Kennet Goldsmith

After a very dense artistic career, this American created the website Ubuweb in which he militates for a writer without writing. Theorist, but also a poet and adept of conceptual art, his texts are developed according to new installation and diffusion forms in part with new numerical technologies. He is one of the champions of a recent movement of post-internet poetry, a form used by search engines that use it as raw material.

Bertrand Lavier

“The fact of bringing together images is as important as creating ones". All the work of this plastic contemporary french artist confirms this maxim as a worthy Marcel Duchamp's successor. Bertrand Lavier questions the relationships between art and everyday life, as well as the nature of the work of art among everyday life objects. Painting, sculpture, daily life objects are his favorite field to make his art evolve.

Matali Crasset

Versatility in an eclectic universe, craft, electronic music, allow her to be the origin of numerous achievements among which the industrial space design. Matali Crasset developed since the eighties a work that explores very various areas, from scenography to furniture, from graphism to interior architecture. Questioning the evidence of codes of our everyday life, she develops her sense of liberty in order to get away from it.

Jacques Henric

'As ferocious and precarious the real is, it is damn enjoyable to be". - Adorations perpétuelles (Seuil, 1994). Can we define Jacques Henric with this sentence? Essayist and novelist, he is the author of fifteen books and collaborates with Art Press, ruled by Catherine Millet. Previously, he collaborated with the magazine Les Lettres Françaises ruled by Aragon. Jacques Henric occupies a singular place in the contemporary literary world. This founder and polemist spirit give him writing which plays on several registers.

Julien Carreyn

Erecting the vintage and even the outmoded as a massive seduction weapon in a time where the digital is king, Julien Carreyn, drawer, painter, and photograph shakes our time by looking the perfect concatenation of images. He produced a corpus of images (photos and drawings), exploring a variety of territories such as erotic comics, manga, childish illustrations for his desire for imagination, and aestheticism. His images evoke a disappeared past engulfed in the waves of remembrance.

Book Jury
Film Jury
Jean-Hubert Martin
President of the Jury

Former Centre Pompidou director, art historian, and expository commissioner, he works through his professional career to the enlargement of the look put on both the contemporary art and the instauration of a speech between cultures.

Charles de Meaux
President of the Jury

Movie director and artist, he is one of the first to have worked about the space between plastic art and cinema. In 2002, Charles de Meaux (especially with Mathieu Copeland) has initiated "Anna Sanders Film World Tour".

Chiara Parisi
Juror

​Cultural programs director at the Monnaie de Paris, she has organized in 2013 "La Nuit des Musées" and "La Nuit Blanche" de Paris.

Mathieu Copeland
Juror

Expository commissioner and publisher, Mathieu Copeland lives and works in London. He especially organized the exhibitions Vides at the Centre Pompidou and at the Kunsthalle Bern in 2009, Soundtrack for an Exhibition and Alan Vega at the Contemporary Art Museum of Lyon, as well as Expart-Art Center - EAC at the ICA of London, at the Contemporary Art Museum of Lyon, at the Sztuki Lodz Museum, at the CAC Vilnius, Kunstihoone Tallinn and at Bizart Shangai. He also has been part of the 9th Bienne of Contemporary art of Lyon's commissioners. In 2002, Mathieu Copeland (especially with Charles de Meaux) initiated "Anna Sanders Films World Tour". 

Olivier Gabet
Juror

Art historian and french museum curator, he started to work in 2005 at the City of Paris Modern Art Museum. He then became responsible for the decorative art collections at the Musée d'Orsay and teach at the Louvre school. In 2008, he led the Louvre Abu-Dhabi project before he became in 2013 the Paris decorative art museum's director. 

Catherine Derosier-
Pouchous
Juror

Since 1986, she is the producer of cultural or artist's movies, in public or private sectors. She was also a journalist at the magazine Cinéma in the eighties with a topic about video creation. She taught the producer job and the fundamentals of the production at the Paris VIII University and in several professional schools. For fourteen years now, she has the responsibility for the production of the Musée du Louvre's films.

Marco Velardi
Juror

Editor-in-chief  of the journal Apartamento

Jean-Pierre Devilliers
Juror

After the obtention of a cinema degree about the young german cinema of the sixties, Jean-Pierre Devilliers discovered the televisual world as a freelance cameraman. The Canal + creative euphoria brings him to the putting pictures of TV shows about cinema and his first documentary about Béatrice Dalle, Patrice Leconte, David Lynch, Emir Kusturica, Juliette Binoche, Catherine Deneuve, Claude Sautet, etc… Will then follow a documentary TV show with Philippe Labro for France Television about Romy Schneider, James Dean, Dalida, Serge Gainsbourg, Grace Kelly, Ernest Hemingway, Jacques Brel, and Marylin Monroe. A few years later, the visual writing of sociologic and historic documentaries will incite it to go back to painting and cinema by the process of film making.

CONTACT

INFO@FILAF.COM

FOLLOW US

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

USEFUL LINKS

INFORMATION

STAFF

PARTNERS & SPONSORS 

SUPPORT FILAF

FILAF 2020

SUBMIT A BOOK

SUBMIT A FILM

6è édition - 2016

Festival International du Livre d'Art et du Film

Programme

Télécharger le programme complet ici

© Arnaud Pyvka et Groupe ccc

Avant l'avant-garde.jpg
Images take flight.jpg
Malpartida.jpg
Tony Conrad.jpg

Palmarès des livres

FILAF D'OR
Avant l’Avant-Garde.

Du jeu en photographie,

1890-1940

par Clément Chéroux (Textuel, 2015)

 


FILAF D'ARGENT
Impondérable,

Les Archives de

Tony Oursler

Tony Oursler (JRP Ringier

Fondation Luma, 2015)


PRIX SPÉCIAL DU JURY
Images Take Flight :

Feather Art in Mexico

Europe

par A. Russo, G. Wolf, D. Fane

(Hirmer Publishers, 2016)

Palmarès des films

FILAF D'OR
Malpartida, Fluxus Village

par María Pérez (2015, 73’,

Prod : prod Smiz & Pixel,

Agencia Audiovisual Freak).


FILAF D'ARGENT - EX AEQUO

 

 


Action Space

de Huw Wahl (2016, 86’, Prod :

Huw Wahl and Amanda Ravetz)

Tony Conrad,

Completely In The Present

de Tyler Hubby (2016, 95’,

Prod : Burning Bridges)

 

Prix d'honneur

Kenneth Goldsmith   /   Bertrand Lavier

Tony Oursier.jpg
Action space.jpg
Invités d'Honneur
Houellebecq - 1.jpg
Michel Houellebecq

Il est un précurseur dans la littérature française, notamment pour ses descriptions de la misère affective et sexuelle de l’homme occidental et pour son style intertextuel amalgamant plusieurs discours. Il reçoit le prix Goncourt en 2010 et y est souvent pressenti les années suivantes. Il est en outre poète en plus d’écrivain, acteur, réalisateur, scénariste, chanteur. Il aborde toujours la solitude existentielle et la dénonciation du libéralisme à l’œuvre jusque dans l’intimité des individus. Il entretient la polémique au grand bonheur des médias. Michel Houellebecq accorde une place importante à son œuvre d’essayiste et intervient dans la presse nationale et internationale.​

E Vila Matas - 4.jpg
Enrique Vila-Mata

Romancier essayiste espagnol, il est né à Barcelone. Après plusieurs collaborations et réalisations dans le cinéma, et dans les soubresauts du Franquisme, il décide de s’installer à Paris où il écrit plusieurs romans et côtoie Marguerite Duras et Copi. De retour à Barcelone, il publie à nouveau plusieurs œuvres et met en relief son écriture au caractère antique traditionnel, où l’auteur exerce sa virtuosité et son ironie, mettant en scène des êtres réels ou fictionnels. En 2016, dans le cadre du film El dia de la Sipia, il devient acteur et part à la rencontre de Miquel Barcelo.

G Garouste- 1.jpg
Gérard Garouste

​Peintre, graveur et sculpteur internationalement reconnu, les oeuvres de Gérard Garouste sont exposées dans les plus grands musées du monde. «Longtemps je n’ai été qu’une somme de questions. Aujourd’hui, je ne suis pas un sage, je ne suis pas guéri, je suis peintre” (L’intranquille, éd. L’iconoclaste). Cette phrase est un résumé de sa vie par l’auteur lui-même. L’étude, cette voie qu’il choisit plutôt que la provocation, lui permet une réflexion sur l’être et la connaissance.

C Millet - 31.jpg
Catherine Millet

Catherine Millet est écrivain et critique d’art française, productrice et directrice de la revue Art Press. Elle est devenue célèbre après la parution autobiographique de La Vie sexuelle de Catherine M., ouvrage où elle y rapporte de façon clinique et désaffectée sa vie sexuelle. Elle est aussi éditeur, notamment d’un recueil de photographies Légendes de Catherine Millet de son compagnon Jacques Henric qui a défrayé la chronique. Elle est aussi auteur de plusieurs ouvrages sur l’art contemporain et d’essais critiques consacrés à Yves Klein ou Salvador Dali.

K Goldsmith - 1.jpg
Kenneth Goldsmith

​Après une carrière artistique très fournie, cet américain crée le site Ubuweb où il milite pour une écriture sans écriture. Théoricien, mais poète et adepte de l’art conceptuel, ses textes sont développés selon des nouvelles formes d’installations et de diffusion en partie avec les nouvelles technologies numériques. C’est l’un des champions d’un mouvement récent de Poésie post internet, des formes utilisées par les moteurs de recherche qui en font leur matière première.

B Lavier - 19.jpg
Bertrand Lavier

​“Le fait de rapprocher des images est aussi important que d’en créer”. Toute l’œuvre de cet artiste plasticien contemporain français vérifie cette maxime en digne successeur de Marcel Duchamp. Bertand Lavier interroge les rapports de l’art et du quotidien ainsi que la nature de l’œuvre d’art avec des objets de la vie courante. Peinture, sculpture, objets du quotidien sont son terrain de prédilection où faire évoluer son art.

M Crasset - 8.jpg
Matali Crasset

​Une polyvalence dans un univers éclectique, artisanat, musique électronique lui vaut d’être à l’origine de nombreuses réalisations dont le design industriel de l’espace. Matali Crasset développe depuis les années 80 un travail qui explore des domaines très variés, de la scénographie au mobilier, du graphisme à l’architecture d’intérieur. Questionnant l’évidence des codes de notre vie quotidienne, elle y développe son sens de la liberté pour s’en affranchir.

J Henric - 2.jpg
Jacques Henric

​«Aussi féroce et précaire que soit le réel, c’est sacrément jouissif d’être» –Adorations perpétuelles (Seuil, 1994). Peut– on définir Jacques Henric par cette phrase ? Essayiste et romancier, il est l’auteur d’une quinzaine d’ouvrages et collabore avec Art Press dirigé par Catherine Millet. Auparavant il a collaboré à la revue Les Lettres Françaises dirigée par Aragon. Jacques Henric occupe une place singulière dans le monde littéraire contemporain. Cet esprit frondeur et polémiste lui vaut une écriture jouant sur plusieurs registres.

J Carreyn - 5.jpg
Julien Carreyn

​Érigeant le vintage et même le ringard en arme de séduction massive à l’heure du numérique roi, Julien Carreyn, dessinateur, peintre et photographe bouscule notre époque cherchant l’enchaînement parfait des images. Il produit un corpus d’images (photos et dessins) explorant des territoires très variés tels que la BD érotique, les mangas, les illustrations enfantines pour son désir d’imaginaire et d’esthétisme. Ses images évoquent un passé disparu englouti dans les vagues du souvenir.

Jury Livres
Jury Films
JH Martin - 4.jpg
Jean-Hubert Martin 
Président du Jury 

​Ancien directeur du Centre Pompidou, historien de l’art et commissaire d’expositions, il oeuvre au travers de son parcours professionnel à l’élargissement du regard posé sur l’art contemporain et à l’instauration d’un dialogue entre les cultures.

C De Meaux- 13.jpg
Charles De Meaux
Président du Jury 

Réalisateur et artiste, il est l’un des premiers à avoir travaillé sur l’espace entre les arts plastiques et le cinéma. En 2002, Charles de Meaux (notamment avec Mathieu Copeland) a initié “Anna Sanders Film World Tour.

C Parisi- 6.jpg
Chiara Parisi
Jurée

​Directrice des programmes culturels à la Monnaie de Paris, elle a organisé en 2013 “La Nuit des Musées”, ainsi que “La Nuit Blanche” de Paris.

M Copeland - 18.jpg
Mathieu Copeland
Juré

​Commissaire d’exposition et éditeur, Mathieu Copeland a notamment organisé les expositions Vides au Centre Pompidou et à la Kunsthalle Bern en 2009, Soundtrack for an Exhibition et Alan Vega au Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon, ainsi que Expart-Art Centre – EAC à l’ICA de Londres, au Musée d’Art Contemporain de Lyon, au Museum Sztuki Lodz. Il a également fait partie des commissaires de la 9è Biennale d’Art Contemporain de Lyon. En 2002, Mathieu Copeland (notamment avec Charles de Meaux) a initié “Anna Sanders Films World Tour”.  

Capture d’écran 2018-04-23 à 16.03.18.jp
Olivier Gabet
Juré

​Historien de l’art et conservateur de musée français, il commence à travailler en 2005 au Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. Il est ensuite responsable des collections d’arts décoratifs au Musée d’Orsay et enseigne à l’École du Louvre. En 2008, il pilote le projet du Louvre Abu–Dhabi avant de devenir en 2013 le directeur du Musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris.

13343056_1082923358446511_80024120749873
Catherine Derosier-Pouchous
Jurée

Elle est depuis 1986 productrice de films culturels ou d’artistes, dans le secteur privé et public. Elle est également journaliste à la revue Cinéma dans les annees 80 avec une rubrique sur la vidéo de création. Elle enseigne le métier de producteur et  les fondamentaux de la production à l’université de Paris VIII et dans différentes écoles professionnelles. Depuis quatorze ans, elle a la responsabilité de la production des films du musée du Louvre

M Velardi - 7-filtered.jpg
Marco Velardi
Juré

Rédacteur en Chef de la revue Apartamento

13310487_1082923365113177_90830692444239
Jean-Pierre Devilliers
Juré

​Après l’obtention d’une maitrise de cinéma sur le jeune cinéma allemand des années 60, Jean-Pierre Devillers découvre le monde télévisuel comme caméraman pigiste. L’euphorie créative de Canal+ l’emmène à la mise en images d’émissions sur le cinéma et à la réalisation de ses premiers documentaires sur Béatrice Dalle, Patrice Leconte, David Lynch, etc… Suivra une série documentaire avec Philippe Labro pour France Télévision sur Romy Schneider, James Dean, Dalida, Serge Gainsbourg, etc. Quelques années plus tard, l’écriture visuelle de documentaires sociologiques et historiques l’incitera avec le temps à retrouver la peinture et le cinéma dans sa réalisation.