9th edition - 2019

International Art Book and Film Festival

Program

© Arnaud Pyvka et Groupe ccc

Making-Of

Download the complete programm here 

Guests of Honour
Yannick Haenel

Yannick Haenel founded the literature review Ligne de risque, that he co-leads since 1997. He has been pensionary of the Villa Médicis in Roma and teaches writing in the Ecole des arts visuels of La Cambre (Brussels). He published novels like Tiens ferme ta couronne (2017), Les Renards pâles (2013), Jan Karski (2009)...

Jacqueline Caux

Jacqueline Caux participated in the organisation of several music festivals, directed experimental short films, as well as musical films screened and awarded in numerous international festivals and museums. Cineast and writer, she also published books of interviews with atypical artists of the second half of the 20th century. She also directed research shows for France Culture.

Michael Blackwood

Michael Blackwood produced and realized more than 150 films during his career, he began in television at NBC in 1959. In 1966, he started his own production company, Blackwood Productions Inc., in order to create a film collection documenting some of the major figures of the cultural landscape, mainly in the fields of art, architecture, music, and dance. From 1983 to 1999, Michael Blackwood Productions produced over 50 new titles, and since 2000, an even greater number, largely split between the subjects of Art and Architecture. His contribution both to the history of these fields, as well as the tradition of documentary filmmaking, has been recognized by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and  the Society of Architectural Historians, among other institutions.

Fabrice Hyber

French artist, Fabrice Hyber has strongly changed the context of art in France since the 90's. 

Who does not remember during the first Lyon Biennal of his work Traduction, monumental soap sculpture weighing 22 tons? Also his works are exposed in the entire world. They ally painting, sculpture, performance, video and installation in the most relevant way. In association with the writer, poet and art critic Pierre Giquel, he published in 2019 Moêmes. This book that gathers two voices relate, with alluding, a long terme friendship.

Raymond Pettibon

Pettibon is perhaps the most prominent contemporary American artist to concentrate on drawing as his primary medium. His work embraces a wide spectrum of American high and low culture, from the deviations of marginal youth to art history, sports, religion, politics, sexuality and literature. Taking their point of departure from the Southern California punk-rock scene of the late 1970s and 1980s and the do-it-yourself aesthetic of album covers, comics, concert flyers, and fanzines that characterized the movement, his drawings have come to occupy their own genre of potent and dynamic artistic commentary.

Collection Phares

A collection of book boxes and DVDs dedicated to surrealist artists. The FILAF festival organized a meeting and discussion with co-producers Aube Breton-Elléouët, Oona Elléouët, Séverine Gauci and director Fabrice Maz.

Exhibitions

  GILLES BARBIER

 

from Tuesday, June the 18th

Galerie du FILAF, Perpignan

Held between 1995 and 2006, the book Entretiens (ed. du Regard) relates the link that unites Gilles Barbier to numerous intellectuals, artists, and scientists from all around the world with whom he seems to correspond in everyday life, delivering the quintessence of their thoughts by drawing them, in order to better ancre them in his memory. On the occasion of the release of the book, the FILAF festival organizes a public discussion between Gilles Barbier and the art critic Richard Leydier, an exhibition of the drawings featuring in the book, and a signing session.

ALBEROlaBELLEROJOUX

 June 20th - July 21st

Couvent des Minimes, Perpignan


An exhibition by Jean-Michel Alberola and Arnaud Labelle-Rojoux.

Commissionership by Stéphane Corréard. In coproduction with the city of Perpignan.


 

"Jean-Michel Alberola and Arnaud Labelle Rojoux are both born after the Second World War, the first in 1953 in Saïda, in Algeria, and the second in 1950, in Paris. Even if they started their teenage years when the "American Way of Life" still made everybody dreamed, they began their artistic practices once society had stopped believing in modernist utopias. Their works mix inextricably images and words. However, the references (that abound) are sometimes so disguised, or on the contrary so transparent, that they defy the understanding: there is literally nothing to understand, or too much. Thus, because their paintings, drawings, sculptures, mural paintings, etc. are strictly inapprehensible, the watcher stops too often on their surface. It would nevertheless be unfortunate that he circulates too fast because there is so much to see...

While so many points gather them - and they are both important references for the current generation of artists and commentators - Jean-Michel Alberola and Arnaud Labelle-Rojoux had, inexplicably, never been reunited before. This exhibition repairs this oversight by presenting their works put in opposition, around their common obsessions for some major figures of literature, art, music, and cinema, but also history and politics. Does the first enjoy Elvis Presley and the other prefer Gene Vincent? Do they share a penchant for Bob Dylan or Guy Debord? What did they learn from Marcel Duchamp, John Ford, or Phil Spector? Labelle-Rojoux or Alberola? Which one left in Togo, hoping to find there the trace of Raymond Roussel, while the other followed the General de Gaulle in Thessaloniki, at 37 years of distance?

In the imposing place that is the Couvent des Minimes, seven secular « chapels » will welcome, like as many book chapters, the recent productions of these two artists, in a telescoping worthy of a synchrocyclotron of the art thought. This visual and mental bombardment should allow the watcher to « see», that is to say, to reach, even imperfectly, to the energetic poetic and political charge hidden in the heart of this works".

Stéphane Corréard, curator of the exhibition.

FILAF 2019 Book Jury
Marc-Olivier Wahler
Books Jury President

Museum directorial, exhibition curator, and art critic, he has led from 2016 to the end of 2018 the Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum at Michigan State University. He is also the director and co-founder of the Chalet Society in Paris since 2012, as well as curator of the sculptures park "Transformer" at Melides (Portugal) since the same year. 
He has led before the Palais de Tokyo in Paris from 2006 to 2012, the Swiss Institute in New York from 2000 to 2006, and the CAN in Neuchâtel from 1995 to 2000.

Anne-Sarah Bénichou
Juror


She is the director of the eponymous gallery that she founded in the Marais in Paris, after a double formation in Art History and Literature, as well as several experiences in the art market, in auction houses and galleries. She represents French and international contemporary artists, emerging and confirmed. She organizes personal or collective exhibitions in partnership with exhibitions curators, philosophers, writers who are regularly accompanied by catalogs. She is also member of the Paris Gallery Week-end office and of the CPGA council of direction

Thomas Clerc
Juror

Thomas Clerc, writer, columnist and performer, has published Maurice Sachs le désoeuvré in 2005 at Allia editions. Since 2007, all of his books are published at L'Arbalète/Gallimard : Paris, musée du XXIe siècle, le 10e arrondissement (2007), L'homme qui tua Roland Barthes et autres nouvelles (2010), Intérieur (2013). His last book, Poeasy, released in 2017, is composed of 751 poems in free verses.

Publisher of Roland Barthes (Le Neutre, notes de cours au Collège de France, 1977-78, released in 2002), and of Guillaume Dustan (Œuvres, POL, 2013), monthly critic member of the AICA, monthly columnist at Libération, he also makes performances especially produced for the place that welcome them (Act'oral Marseille, Maison de la Poésie, Labos d'Aubervilliers, etc.).

Alicia Kopf
Juror

Born in 1982 in Catalonia, licensed in art and literature, Alicia Kopf is a multimedia artist and writer. Her first novel, Frère de glace, was born from a series of exhibitions, Àrticantàrtic. It has been awarded of Documenta, Llibreter, El Ojo Crítico RNE, Cálamo Otra Mirada prizes. It won the GAC prize for the gallery's best young artist exhibition for "Seal sound under the floor" in 2013. "Speculative Intimacy" (Galerie Joan Prats, June 2019) is her last individual exhibition. She approaches seemingly individuals topics that turn out to be generational concerns. 

The expressive dimension of her work allows her to approach topics like precarious housing or the journey of polar exploration as an answer to a hostile present from a position that combines emotion and ironic distance.

Christoph Doswald
Juror

Swiss publicist, curator, and university lecturer, Christoph Doswald is president of the workgroup about art in the City of Zurich’s public spaces since 2009. He is also the curator of numerous exhibition and publications about contemporary art, especially Double Face, The Story About Fashion and Art (JRP/Ringier, 2006), Press Art (Kunstmuseum ST. Gallen/Museum der Moderne, Salzbourg 2010), Wohn mit der Skulptur (JRP/Ringier 2011), ART AND THE CITY, A Public Art Project (Zurich 2012).

FILAF 2019 Film Jury
Joaquim Sapinho
President of the jury

Joaquim Sapinho is a Portuguese movie director, producer, and artist. The international breakthrough of his first film Haircut (1996, Locarno) paved the way to a new generation of Portuguese cineasts. His following movies were introduced in Berlin (2003 for Police Woman) and in Toronto (2011 for This Side of Resurrection). His film Bosnia Diaries (2005) is a portrait of the roots and the scars of the war in ex Yugoslavia. His installation Liquid Skin in 2016 with Apichatpong Weerasethakul marked the opening of the new Museum of Contemporary Art of Lisbon (MAAT). In 2018, Penelope Curtis defy him to realize the first transhistorical installation in Portugal at the Gulbenkian Foundation. He has also produced Albert Serra's three last movies and prepares the next project Lav Diaz which will be shot in Portugal. He now works in the editing of his new movie which deals with time, family, and death.

Morgane Tschiember
Juror

Born in 1976 in Brest, France, Morgane Tschiember studied art and fine arts in Quimper until 1999 and at the Beaux-Arts de Paris in 2002. Awarded by the prize Jeune Création/Espace Paul Ricard in 2001, she has her first personal exhibition, at 26 years old at the foundation Ricard in 2002. In 2003, she is invited to participate in the Alain Robbe-Grillet's retrospective at the musée des Beaux-Arts de Brest. She shared with Olivier Mosset a workshop in Paris for 5 years. Winner of the  FAWU ABROAD 2018, of the FLAX Foundation, she won residences in Los Angeles, New York, International Studio and Curatorial Program (2009), Kyoto (2010), Nuove//Residency, Italie. (2013), and gets the Prix Sanofi in 2013.

She lives in Paris and works in a factory she created in 2011.

Morgane Tschiember's work stands out in the 2000s with both physical and metaphysical approach of her practice, fed by philosophy classes by Jacques Derrida at the École des Hautes Études Sociales, that influences her reflection, qualifiable synthesis of  "romantic minimalism".

Penelope Curtis
Juror

First non-Portuguese director of the Calouste-Gulbenkian Museum, Penelope Curtis took office in the fall of 2015. Great specialist of modern sculpture, she previously has been a curator at the Henry Moore Institute, in Leed (United Kingdom), before becoming the first woman to lead the Tate Britain, from 2010 to 2015. She especially supervised the vast renovation building site of the londonian museum.

Abdelkader Benchamma
Juror

He is a French contemporary artist. His main medium is drawing. He is part of "Vitamin 2D, New Perspectives in Drawing" (ed. Phaidon), reference book about contemporary drawing that selects a hundred of artists worldwide.
Revealed as an emerging talent of the contemporary drawing scene, he chases personal and collective exhibitions in France and abroad. 
Since 2019, he exposes at the Galerie Tamplon in Paris.

Books awarded during FILAF 2019

GOLDEN FILAF

 

INCOMPIUTO : The Birth of a Style
Alterazioni Video, Fosbury Architecture
Humboldt Books, Italy, 2018.



SILVER FILAF

 

Jean-Jacques Lequeu : Bâtisseur de fantasmes
L. Baridon, J-P. Garric et alli.
Norma / BnF, France, 2018.



SPECIAL JURY PRIZE

 

Pascale Ogier. Ma soeur
E. Nicolas.
Filigranes Editions, France, 2018.


PERPIGNAN LIBRARY PRIZE
 

Art'Bracadabra.

Découverte des ingrédients magiques de l'oeuvre d'art

R. Garnier.
Amaterra / Centre Pompidou, France, 2018.

 

CINEMA

Zones de guerre
J. Saab (photos), E. Sanbar, E. Adnan (textes).
Éditions de l'Oeil, France, 2018.



PHOTOGRAPHY

The map and the territory
L. Ghirri.
Mack Books, Germany, 2018.

 


VEGETAUX D'ART CULINAIRE PRIZE ABOUT THE BEST BOOK ABOUT COOKING AND ART CULINARY

Manger à l'Oeil
éd. de l'Épure / Mucem, France, 2019

FINE ARTS

Bruegel
M. Weemans, R. L. Falkenburg.
Hazan, France, 2018.

MODERN ART

Bill Traylor
V. Rousseau, D. Purden.
5 Continents, Italy, 2018.

ARCHITECTURE

Group Ludic. L'imagination au pouvoir
X. de la Salle, D. Roditi, S. Koszel.
Facteur Humain, Belgium, 2019.


MUSIC

Art & Vinyl : a visual record
J. Fraenkel, A. De Beaupré.
Fraenkel Gallery / éditions Antoine De Beaupré, USA / France, 2018.

YOUNG ARTBOOK

Art'Bracadabra.

Découverte des ingrédients magiques de l'oeuvre d'art

R. Garnier.
Amaterra / Centre Pompidou, France, 2018.


CONTEMPORARY ART

Isidore Isou
F. Acquaviva.
Édition du Griffon, Switzerland, 2019.

PRIMITIVE ARTS

Galerie Pigalle. Afrique, Océanie, 1930.

Une exposition mythique
C-W. Hourdé, N. Rolland.
Somogy Editions d'Art, France, 2018.

Films awarded during the FILAF festival - 2018

 

 

GOLDEN

That Cloud Never Left

Yashaswini Raghunandan,

India | 2019 | 65’. PROD : Namita Waikar, P.Sainath, Yashaswini Raghunandan



SILVER FILAF

 

Le Premier mouvement de l’immobile

Sebastiano d'Ayala Valva,

France, Italy | 2018 | 81’. PROD / DIFF : Les Films de la Butte, Ideacinema, ARTE GEIE, Radio France 



SPECIAL JURY PRIZE, EX-AEQUO

Delphine et Carole Insoumuses 

Callisto Mc Nulty,

France, Switzerland | 2018 | 68'. PROD: Les Films de la Butte

Creation from the obscure
Tomoya Ise,

Japan | 2018 | 59'. PROD : Nozomu Makino, Shinichi Ise, Hiroaki Fukushima, Toshihide Yabuki

Special Jury Prizes FILAF 2019

Raymond Pettibon     -     Aube Breton-Elléouët / Collections Phares     -     Jacqueline Caux     -     Michael Blackwood

CONTACT

INFO@FILAF.COM

FOLLOW US

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

USEFUL LINKS

INFORMATION

STAFF

PARTNERS & SPONSORS 

SUPPORT FILAF

FILAF 2020

SUBMIT A BOOK

SUBMIT A FILM

9è édition - 2019

Festival International du Livre d'Art et du Film

Programme

© Arnaud Pyvka et Groupe ccc

Making-Of

Téléchargez le programme complet ici

Invités d'honneur
Yannick Haenel

Yannick Haenel a fondé la revue littéraire Ligne de risque, qu’il co-dirige depuis 1997. Il a été pensionnaire de la Villa Médicis (Rome) et enseigne l’écriture à l’École des arts visuels de La Cambre (Bruxelles). Il publie des romans dont Tiens ferme ta couronne (2017), Les Renards pâles (2013), Jan Karski (2009)... 

Jacqueline Caux

Jacqueline Caux participe à l’organisation de plusieurs festivals de musique, réalise des courts-métrages expérimentaux, ainsi que des films musicaux projetés et primés dans de nombreux festivals et musées internationaux. Cinéaste et écrivain, elle a aussi publié des livres d’entretiens avec des artistes atypiques de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. Elle a également réalisé des émissions de recherche pour France Culture.

Michael Blackwood

Michael Blackwood a produit et réalisé plus de 150 films au cours de sa carrière, qui a débuté à la télévision sur NBC en 1959. En 1966, il fonde sa propre société de cinéma, Blackwood Productions Inc., dans le but de créer un label regroupant quelques unes des figures marquantes du paysage culturel, dans les domaines de l’art, de l’architecture, de la musique, de la danse, de l’histoire, des sciences et de la littérature. De 1983 à 1999, Michael Blackwood Productions produit plus de 50 nouveaux films, dont la moitié en architecture seulement. 

Fabrice Hyber

Artiste français, Fabrice Hyber a dès les années 90 fortement changé le contexte de l’art en France. Qui ne se souvient lors de la première Biennale de Lyon de son œuvre Traduction, sculpture monumentale en savon de Marseille, pesant 22 tonnes ? Sans compter les nombreuses œuvres exposées dans le monde entier. Autant d’œuvres interactives qui allient peinture, sculpture, performance, vidéo et installation de la plus pertinente des manières. En association avec l’écrivain, poète et critique d’art Pierre Giquel, il publie en 2019 Moêmes. Ce livre à deux voix relate tout en allusion, une longue amitié. 

Raymond Pettibon

Né en 1957 à Tucson, dans l’Arizona, Pettibon est diplômé en économie en 1977 à l’Université de Californie. Il rejoint la galerie David Zwirner en 1995. En 2017, TH’EXPLOSIYV SHOYRT  marque sa dixième exposition solo chez David Zwirner à New York.

Le travail de Pettibon a été largement exposé à travers les États-Unis et à l’étranger. En 2017, A Pen of All Work, la plus grande exposition de l’artiste à ce jour, était visible au New Museum de New York. 

Collection Phares

Une collection de coffrets livre + DVD consacrée aux artistes du mouvement surréaliste. Le FILAF organise une rencontre et discussion avec les co-productrices Aube Breton- Elléouët, Oona Elléouët, Séverine Gauci et le réalisateur Fabrice Maz.

Expositions

GILLES BARBIER

 

à partir du mardi 18 juin

Galerie du FILAF, Perpignan

Tenu entre 1995 à 2006, l’ouvrage Entretiens (éd. du Regard) relate les liens qui unissent Gilles Barbier à nombre d’intellectuels, artistes, scientifiques du monde entier... avec lesquels il semble correspondre au quotidien, livrant la quintessence de leurs pensées tout en les dessinant afin de mieux les fixer dans la mémoire. À l'occasion de la parution de cet ouvrage, le FILAF organise une discussion publique entre Gilles Barbier et le critique d'art Richard Leydier, ainsi qu'une exposition des dessins qui composent l'ouvrage et une signature.

ALBEROlaBELLEROJOUX

 

20 juin - 21 juillet 2019

Couvent des Minimes, Perpignan


Exposition de Jean-Michel Alberola et Arnaud Labelle-Rojoux.

Commissariat Stéphane Corréard. Coproduction avec la Ville de Perpignan.

 

"Jean-Michel Alberola et Arnaud Labelle Rojoux sont tous deux nés juste après la seconde Guerre mondiale, le premier en 1953 à Saïda, en Algérie, et le second en 1950, à Paris. Ils ont entamé leur adolescence à un moment où l’ « American Way of Life » faisait encore rêver, et leurs pratiques artistiques une fois qu’on eut tout à fait cessé de croire aux utopies modernistes. Leurs œuvres mêlent inextricablement images et mots. Cependant, les références (qui y abondent) sont parfois si déguisées, ou au contraire si transparentes, qu’elles défient l’entendement : il n’y a littéralement rien, à comprendre, ou trop. Ainsi, parce que leurs tableaux, dessins, sculptures, peintures murales, etc. sont strictement incompréhensibles, le regardeur s’arrête trop souvent à leur surface. Il serait pourtant dommage qu’il circule trop vite, car il y a tant à voir...
Alors que tant de points les rassemblent, et qu’ils sont des références importantes pour la génération actuelle d’artistes et de commentateurs, Jean-Michel Alberola et Arnaud Labelle-Rojoux n’ont, inexplicablement, jamais été réunis. L’exposition organisée à l’occasion du Filaf répare cet oubli en présentant leurs œuvres en regard, autour de leurs obsessions communes pour certaines figures majeures de la littérature, de l’art, de la musique et du cinéma, mais aussi de l’Histoire et de la politique. L’un est plus Elvis Presley, l’autre Gene Vincent ? Partagent-ils un penchant pour Bob Dylan, ou Guy Debord ? Qu’ont-ils appris de Marcel Duchamp, de John Ford ou de Phil Spector ? Labelle-Rojoux ou Alberola ? Lequel est parti au Togo, espérant y trouver la trace de Raymond Roussel, tandis que l’autre a suivi le Général de Gaulle à Thessalonique, à 37 ans de distance ?
Dans le cadre imposant du Couvent des Minimes, sept « chapelles » profanes accueilleront, comme autant de chapitres d’un livre, les productions récentes des deux artistes, dans un télescopage digne d’un synchrocyclotron de la pensée et de l’art. Ce bombardement visuel et mental devrait permettre au regardeur de « voir », c’est-à-dire d’accéder, même incomplètement, même imparfaitement, à l’énergique charge poétique et politique tapie au cœur de ces œuvres".

 

Stéphane Corréard, commissaire de l’exposition.

Jury livres FILAF 2019
Marc-Olivier Wahler
Président du Jury Livres

Marc-Olivier Wahler est un directeur de musée, commissaire d’expositions et critique d’art.

Il dirige en effet depuis 2016 l’Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum à la Michigan State University. Il est également directeur et cofondateur du Chalet Society à Paris depuis 2012, ainsi que curateur du parc de sculptures Transformer à Melides (Portugal) depuis la même année.

Il a dirigé au préalable le Palais de Tokyo à Paris de 2006 à 2012, le Swiss Institute à New York de 2000 à 2006 et le CAN à Neuchâtel de 1995 à 2000.

Anne-Sarah Bénichou
Jurée

Elle est directrice de la galerie éponyme qu’elle a fondée dans le Marais à Paris, après une double formation en Histoire de l’art et en Littérature ainsi que plusieurs expériences dans le marché de l’art, en maisons de vente et en galeries. Elle y représente des artistes contemporains français et internationaux, émergents et confirmés. Elle y organise des expositions personnelles ou collectives en partenariat avec des commissaires d’expositions, des philosophes, des écrivains qui sont régulièrement accompagnées de catalogues. Elle est également membre du bureau du Paris Gallery Week-end et du conseil de direction du CPGA.

Thomas Clerc
Juré

Thomas Clerc, écrivain, chroniqueur et performeur, a publié Maurice Sachs le désœuvré en 2005 aux éditions Allia. Depuis 2007, tous ses livres sont publiés chez L'Arbalète/Gallimard : Paris, musée du XXIe siècle, le 10e arrondissement (2007), L'homme qui tua Roland Barthes et autres nouvelles (2010), Intérieur (2013). Son dernier livre, Poeasy, sorti en 2017, est constitué de 751 poèmes en vers libres.

Editeur de Roland Barthes (Le Neutre, notes de cours au Collège de France, 1977-78, paru en 2002), et de Guillaume Dustan (Œuvres, POL, 2013), critique membre de l'AICA, chroniqueur mensuel à Libération, il effectue aussi des performances spécialement produites pour l'endroit qui les accueille (Act'oral Marseille, Maison de la Poésie, Labos d'Aubervilliers, etc.).

Alicia Kopf
Jurée

Née en 1982 en Catalogne, licenciée en arts et en littérature, Alicia Kopf est une artiste multimédia et écrivain. Son premier roman, Frère de glace, est issu d’une série d’expositions, Àrticantàrtic. Il a été couronné des prix Documenta, Llibreter, El Ojo Crítico RNE, Cálamo Otra Mirada. Il a remporté le prix du GAC pour la meilleure exposition de jeune artiste de la galerie pour "Seal sound under the floor" en 2013. "Speculative Intimacy" (Galerie Joan Prats, juin 2019) est sa dernière exposition individuelle. 

Alicia Kopf aborde des sujets apparemment individuels qui se révèlent être des préoccupations générationnelles.

La dimension expressive de son travail lui permet d'aborder des sujets tels que le logement précaire ou l'épopée de l'exploration polaire en réponse à un présent hostile à partir d'une position combinant émotion et distance ironique.

Christoph Doswald
Juré

Publiciste, curateur et conférencier universitaire suisse, Christoph Doswald est président du groupe de travail sur l’art dans les espaces publics de la ville de Zurich depuis 2009. Il est également le commissaire de nombreuses expositions et publications sur l’art contemporain, notamment Double Face, The Story About Fashion and Art (JRP/Ringier, 2006), Press Art (Kunstmuseum St.Gallen/Museum der Moderne, Salzbourg 2010), Wohin mit der Skulptur (JRP/Ringier 2011), ART AND THE CITY, A Public Art Project (Zurich 2012).

Jury films FILAF 2019
Joaquim Sapinho
Président du jury films

Joaquim Sapinho est un réalisateur, producteur et artiste portugais. La percée internationale de son premier film Haircut (1996, Locarno) a ouvert la voie à une nouvelle génération de cinéastes portugais. Ses films suivants ont été présentés à Berlin (2003 pour Police Woman) et à Toronto (2011 pour This Side of Resurrection). Son film Bosnia Diaries (2005) est un portrait des racines et des cicatrices de la guerre en ex-Yougoslavie. Son installation Liquid Skin en 2016 avec Apichatpong Weerasethakul a marqué l’ouverture du nouveau musée d'art contemporain de Lisbonne (MAAT). En 2018, Penelope Curtis le met au défi de réaliser la première installation transhistorique au Portugal à la Fondation Gulbenkian. Il a également produit les trois derniers films d'Albert Serra et prépare le prochain projet Lav Diaz qui sera tourné au Portugal. Il travaille actuellement au montage de son nouveau film qui porte sur le temps, la famille et la mort.

Morgane Tschiember
Jurée

 

Née en 1976 à Brest en France. Morgane Tschiember fait ses études d'art aux Beaux Arts de Quimper jusqu'en 1999 et aux Beaux Arts de Paris en 2002. Lauréate du prix Jeune Création / Espace Paul Ricard en 2001, elle a sa première exposition personnelle, à 26 ans, à la fondation Ricard en 2002. En 2003, Elle est invitée à participer à la retrospective d'Alain Robbe-Grillet au musée des Beaux-Arts de Brest. Morgane partage avec Olivier Mosset un atelier à Paris, pendant 5 ans. Lauréate du FAWU ABROAD 2018, de la FLAX Foundation, elle a été lauréate de résidences à Los Angeles, à New York, International Studio and Curatorial Program (2009), Kyoto (2010),Nuove//Residency, Italie.(2013), et reçoit le prix Sanofi en 2013.

Elle vit à Paris et travaille au sein d'une factory qu'elle a crée en 2011.

Le travail de Morgane Tschiember se singularise dès les années 2000 par une approche à la fois physique et métaphysique de sa pratique, nourrie des cours de philosophie de Jacques Derrida à l’École des Hautes Études Sociales, qui influence sa réflexion, synthèse qualifiable de « minimalisme romantique ». 

Penelope Curtis
Jurée

Premier directeur non portugais du Musée Calouste-Gulbenkian, Penelope Curtis a pris ses fonctions à l’automne 2015. Grande spécialiste de la sculpture moderne, elle a auparavant été conservatrice au Henry Moore Institute, à Leeds (Royaume-Uni), avant de devenir la première femme à diriger la Tate Britain de 2010 à 2015. Elle a notamment supervisé le vaste chantier de rénovation du musée londonien.

Abdelkader Benchamma
Juré

Abdelkader Benchamma est un artiste contemporain français. Son principal médium est le dessin. Il figure dans " Vitamin 2D, New Perspectives in Drawing" (éd. Phaidon), ouvrage de référence sur le dessin contemporain qui sélectionne une centaine d'artistes à travers le monde.

Repéré comme un talent émergeant de la scène du dessin contemporain, il enchaîne les expositions collectives et personnelles en France et à l'étranger. Depuis 2019, il expose à la Galerie Templon à Paris.

Livres primés au FILAF 2019

FILAF D'OR

 

INCOMPIUTO : The Birth of a Style
Alterazioni Video, Fosbury Architecture
Humboldt Books,
Italie, 2018.



FILAF D'ARGENT

 

Jean-Jacques Lequeu : Bâtisseur de fantasmes
L. Baridon, J-P. Garric et alli.
Norma / BnF,
France, 2018.



PRIX SPECIAL DU JURY

 

Pascale Ogier. Ma soeur
E. Nicolas.
Filigranes Editions,
France, 2018.


PRIX MEDIATHEQUE
 

Art'Bracadabra.

Découverte des ingrédients magiques de l'oeuvre d'art

R. Garnier.
Amaterra / Centre Pompidou,
France, 2018.

 

CINÉMA

Zones de guerre
J. Saab (photos), E. Sanbar, E. Adnan (textes).
Éditions de l'Oeil,
France, 2018.



PHOTOGRAPHIE

The map and the territory
L. Ghirri.
Mack Books,
Allemagne, 2018.



PRIX VÉGÉTAUX D'ART CULINAIRE DU MEILLEUR LIVRE SUR LA CUISINE ET L'ART CULINAIRE


Manger à l'Oeil
éd. de l'Épure / Mucem, France, 2019
 

​BEAUX ARTS

 

Bruegel


M. Weemans, R. L. Falkenburg.
Hazan,
France, 2018.

ART MODERNE

Bill Traylor


V. Rousseau, D. Purden.
5 Continents,
Italie, 2018.

ARCHITECTURE

 

Group Ludic. L'imagination au pouvoir


X. de la Salle, D. Roditi, S. Koszel.
Facteur Humain,
Belgique, 2019.


MUSIQUE

Art & Vinyl : a visual record


J. Fraenkel, A. De Beaupré.
Fraenkel Gallery / éditions Antoine De Beaupré, USA / France, 2018.

JEUNESSE​

Art'Bracadabra.

Découverte des ingrédients magiques de l'oeuvre d'art

R. Garnier.
Amaterra / Centre Pompidou,
France, 2018.

ART CONTEMPORAIN

Isidore Isou
F. Acquaviva.
Édition du Griffon,
Suisse, 2019.

ARTS PREMIERS

 

Galerie Pigalle. Afrique, Océanie, 1930.

Une exposition mythique
C-W. Hourdé, N. Rolland.
Somogy Editions d'Art,
France, 2018.

Films primés au FILAF 2019

 

 

FILAF D'OR

That Cloud Never Left

Yashaswini Raghunandan,

Inde | 2019 | 65’. PROD : Namita Waikar, P.Sainath, Yashaswini Raghunandan



FILAF D'ARGENT

 

Le Premier mouvement de l’immobile

Sebastiano d'Ayala Valva,

France, Italie | 2018 | 81’. PROD / DIFF : Les Films de la Butte, Ideacinema, ARTE GEIE, Radio France 



PRIX SPECIAL DU JURY, EX-AEQUO

Delphine et Carole Insoumuses 

Callisto Mc Nulty,

France, Suisse | 2018 | 68'. PROD : Les Films de la Butte

Creation from the obscure
Tomoya Ise,

Japon | 2018 | 59'. PROD : Nozomu Makino, Shinichi Ise, Hiroaki Fukushima, Toshihide Yabuki

Prix d'Honneur FILAF 2019

Raymond Pettibon     -     Aube Breton-Elléouët / Collections Phares     -     Jacqueline Caux     -     Michael Blackwood

CONTACT

INFO@FILAF.COM

SUIVEZ-NOUS

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

FILAF 2020

SOUMETTRE UN LIVRE
SOUMETTRE UN FILM